Holy HOKA AGAIN!

“I love it when something surprises me in a good way. Love finding new undiscovered trails, a good tasting gel and a shoe that is different!” – Noel Paine

In the past few years I have tried many shoes from a number of brands but HOKA gave me the biggest surprise. After ditching my orthotics a number of years ago after feeling over-corrected (did this gradually)(and have experience with orthotics) I was able to wear lighter cushioned shoes – much more minimal than I had ever really worn before. It also sort of coincided with the minimal movement. I never got down to really minimal shoes or no shoes – but was fair move for me—-from shoes like the Asics Cumulus to New Balance 1400s as a training shoe.

As a nice holiday surprise I found a box containing the new Clayton 2 (yet to hot the store shelves). This is your sneak peek.

c0kyadeweaelod0

HOKA ONE ONE Clayton 2

The dirt on this shoe

A update on an often hard to find responsive road shoe from HOKA ONE ONE.

First Clayton is and was a nice shoe – and a more responsive option for brand known for some chunky looking (but light shoes). I have run in their Clifton, Challenger, SpeedGoat and even have their racing flat and the Clayton is my favourite.

Frame -wide and solid. Midsole is beefy and light but not mushy soft. Outer just thin enough and supportive. Outersole is lighter material that wears well but not usual carbon rubber. Tread is minimal but not bad.

c1a-3lcxaaa2j2l
Clayton 1

 

What I think

I really like the update on the Clayton, the toe box and width of forefoot seems roomier and more comfortable. The shoe is cushioned but responsive and I like the way it rolls from mid-foot to toe off. The liner/insole that comes like the original Clayton is relatively thin but I usually replace after a few miles and use a gel insole that adds some cushion and gives a softer feel inside shoe. Nice ride, responsive and can squeeze lots of training miles from this shoe. Nice update.

c0kyxwexcaamfbe
Clayton 2

The Clayton midsole and other characteristics feel about the same but like fit a bit better. Fit true to size length-wise.

My running dad feet seem to have become more cranky over time and they appreciate room and cushion.

  • 8.30z for mens size 9
  • 4mm heel to toe drop

Clayton – probably retail at price of around $150 US

HOKA ONE ONE is a company that just seems to keep improving their product and coming up with good updates. The company and their shoes are worth a try.

 

 

Run on running friends and do what works for your feet!

HOKA ONE ONE website

HOKA on Twitter @HOKAONEONE

 

Find me on Twitter @NoelPaine

2 thoughts on “Holy HOKA AGAIN!

    1. Hi – sorry for delay in responding. Everyone has a different foot – and your foot may be wider than mine there or you have a lower arch than I do. I find insole that come with my HOKAs pound out pretty quick – I use an off the shelf gel insole or a newer one from another shoe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

