A review of recovery sandals.

“So may runners forget to take care of the main tool for running – their feet!”

I am a little older now and my feet and legs seem to get tired and sore more often than my younger self did. I have great Birkenstock sandals that have support and allow my feet to spread naturally….but they are not soft!

I recently was at the Ottawa race expo and heard talk of these super comfortable recovery sandals that runners are loving – I was intrigued. The runners were saying they not only felt good but helped you recover and were supportive…..smelled like something to check out and review to me!

Unlike flip-flops, the OOFOS patented footbed is designed with tremendous arch support to take the pressure off of ankles, knees and hips, as well as your lower back.

Biomechanically designed, OOFOS flex with both your foot and the ground. The soft, flexible OOfoam material enables your foot to articulate the way nature intended.

• Soft, conforming toe post eliminates chafing
• Durable OOfoam holds its cushion its entire life
• Moisture resistant closed cell foam is shower-ready and machine washable
• So light they float

So here is my review.

download

Oofos recovery footwear

Their website says: “Biomechanically engineered to alleviate the foot stress and soreness caused by your daily grind. Perfect for casual wear, recovery after a grueling run, or relaxing after a long day on your feet. Slip into a pair and you’ll immediately “Feel the OO”.

The box arrived and I took a pair of black, rubber/plastic sandals out. The sandals were all one piece, decently thick and soft but not soft to feel like they had no support. I was pumped to try them out.

 feet

Oofos say they use foams are designed to “rebound” and propel you forward and apparently absorbs 37% more shock with every step than traditional footwear foam. I can say it does feel nice. The sandals are also supposed to be biomechanically designed to flex with both your foot and the ground enabling the foot to articulate the way it is supposed to. The website also says the soft toe post (I used to hate flip flops rubbing between my toes) eliminates chafing, the OOfoam holds its cushion its entire life, the sandals are moisture resistant (closed cell foam), are shower-ready, are machine washable and the suckers float. Cool.

So I put them on.

My thoughts

 The sandals (I got the original Oofos model)(more options available – even a clog) are VERY comfortable and the toe post does not bother me like old-school flipflops do. The sandals do feel soft and are not solid like birkenstock or some other sport sandals I have worn and they take a few minutes to get use to slight movement with each step. I feel supported in arch area but not huge amount (though I have high arches) and after walking for a few minutes feel good and I got used to unique feel.

Untitled

I worn for a few minutes out of the box, after runs and in the house and outside. I liked. These sandals are comfortable and feel better than harder sport sandals I have worn – they really do feel like they are giving my feet a break. I did not wear in shower yet but sure they would be fine —will throw in tonight.

Do they do as they say they do —-need more wear and testing but feel good. With my years of running and experience with feet – these could be a nice recovery footwear to have around after hard runs/workouts and races. If you have really unstable feet/ankles or wear orthotics I would slowly try these out a few minutes a time and see if you can adjust to and meet your needs. Everyone has different feet (most complex bony structure in body) and each person has different needs and preferences.

Thumbs up

So for me and my feet I love these  sandals and think are worth checking out if looking for a sport sandal or something to help your tired feet!

The original sandal I tried retails for $44.95 US and comes in 6-colours. For my US friends you can order online and in Canada – there are lots of distributors and stores (search).

Run on my friends and keep those feet happy!

 

You can find Oofos on their website (Canada) and also on Twitter @OofosCanada and Instagram @OofosCanada.

 US Oofos website

UK Oofos website

3 thoughts on “A review of recovery sandals.

Leave a Reply

